Orange Marmalade Sugar Cookies

2014-03-27 13.25.42

“Best Cookies Ever” was a phrase I never thought I’d hear even remotely tied to anything I had made, so when it was uttered from the full mouths of my hungry roommates, I was a little giddy. And then I started to say the same thing, because these cookies are actually like the best I have ever tasted and I don’t know how or why but trust me, you will not be disappointed.

To be honest, I haven’t been able to reproduce them, but that is probably because I haven’t done exactly the same thing since. I am a baker of opportunity, and I use what I (and my collaborative and magnanimous roommates) have, especially in the winter and “spring” months here in Boston, when no one wants to venture outside to the overpriced on-campus store or–God forbid–the local Shaw’s. So after I made these, I was out of granulated sugar and powdered sugar/honey/maple syrup are just not the same–I could not repeat the masterpiece. But what made these cookies in the first place was that same mentality: “I have these ingredients, and I want cookies, so let’s see what I can make out of what I have. Also, Google find me ten cookie recipes with these different ingredients that I can hopefully merge together into an edible piece of sugar.”

I began with a recipe from AllRecipes.com posted by a user named Emily, and substituted my way from there. Messing around while baking is one of those things that’s both exciting and empowering, so I encourage everyone to use whatever you have to make what you want! But if you do want the tried and true recipe, it is listed below for you to enjoy. Have fun!

Ingredients:
– 1.25 cups all-purpose flour
– 0.5 tsp baking soda
– 0.5 tsp salt
– 0.5 cup vegetable oil
– 0.66 cups granulated sugar
– 1 eggs
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 2 tbsp orange marmalade
– handful of orange craisins

Directions:
1. Preheat your oven to 350 deg F
2. Stir flour, baking soda, and salt in one bowl
3. Whisk together vegetable oil, sugar, egg, vanilla, and orange marmalade
4. Whisk dry ingredients into wet ingredients, then add orange craisins
5. Bake for 7 minutes, then reduce heat to 320 deg F and leave in the oven for another 2 minutes

Notes:
– These were very wet when I made them, and this is a halved recipe because I like to conserve eggs (and I always end up finishing the batch anyways so I may as well not become obese) so make small cookies! And maybe reduce the time in the oven by a little bit! It was really hard to share when I made like eight cookies and everyone wanted two and I have more than four friends. I’m really helping you out here.
– Our oven heats very quickly and cooks things very quickly. I do prefer my cookies on the mushier less-burnt side, so I always check before they’re ready anyways, but your oven may bake them to perfection after 12 minutes, so just be aware of that.
– Orange craisins are–I believe–officially “orange flavored dried cranberries” and I buy them at Trader Joe’s. The one on Boylston in the basement with the cool mural.
– Orange Marmalade is the Smucker’s brand and it’s very sweet. If you’re going to put it on toast, I’d recommend Dundee (that’s what my mom buys)
– White chocolate chips are your friends, and if you add them to these cookies, I’m guessing they’ll turn out like orange creamsicle cookies. I should try that.
– Your roommates probably appreciate a clean cooking atmosphere, so remember to wash your dishes, kids! I apologize to all of my roommates for the mess I always leave. Also, grease your pans before baking because you don’t want them to stick. Use a bit of extra vegetable oil for your own sanity.

Leave a Reply

