Coconut Banana Bread

Hello, banana bread lovers!  Or coconut lovers, depending on which part of the title caught your eye.  I should write catchier titles.

My parents’ house currently smells like banana bread because, in anticipation for my brothers’ return home from his first year at college, my mom and I decided to bake! (I don’t think this sentence could be wordier, but think of it as a brain teaser–you figured it out.  Congrats!) I do love baking, partially because it involves the sum of parts coming together with science and partially because it involves eating.  Anyways, my mom tends to doctor recipes brilliantly, and this is what she came up with.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
– 3 large bananas
– 1/3 cup coconut oil
– 1 egg
– 1 cup sugar
– 1 tsp baking soda
– 1 tsp baking powder
– sprinkle of salt
– 1 tbsp vanilla extract
– lime juice from a single lime
– 1.5 cup flour

Directions:
1. Preheat your oven to 350 deg F
2. Mash your bananas in a large bowl
3. Squeeze the lime into the bananas
4. Add coconut oil to the mashed bananas (it makes a difference if you measure liquid vs solid–I think liquid is the key)
5. Beat the egg
6. Mix sugar, egg, and vanilla into the banana bowl
7. Add baking soda, baking powder, and salt around the mixture
8. Add flour
9. Pour into a GREASED 5×8 loaf pan
10. Bake for 1 hour
11. Let cool for way longer than you want

Notes
– My mom usually adds a splash of Malibu rum to her banana bread, but since we were trying coconut oil this time, we decided not to add it; the bread actually did not taste very coconut-y, so if you want to add Malibu, it probably won’t be too much.
– Nutrition: we actually calculated that if you slice the bread into 12 pieces, it’s about 205 calories per slice.  Substituting everything except the coconut oil would make it healthier, as always, but who knows what you’ll end up with.
– Apparently you should wait forever for the bread to cool, and after that let it cool another 10 minutes upside down on a wire rack, and then another 10 minutes right side up on the wire rack, but I don’t believe in this.  She made me wait, but really, is it so bad if it crumbles a little more?
– But actually, cooling on a wire rack is important. Otherwise, too much moisture builds up. Apparently.
– My mom mentioned that sugar can definitely be reduced, or you can mix in brown sugar and whatnot.  I WOULD TAKE HER WORD FOR IT PEOPLE.  She is good at this doctoring thing.
– The bread did come out very moist, which I like, but my mom would have added an extra bit of flour to balance it out if she could go back in time to when she mixed it.  We can’t, but you can learn from this!

Leave a Reply

